Universities should accept equal number of male and female student in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The term equality, equity and gender discrimination are the most talkative issues over a few decades in all over the world. Many people in different societies argue that education is not mandatory for females. However, I completely disagree because there are certain subjects that are purely designed for male students, such as engineering. First of all, having the same number of men and women on all degree courses is simply unrealistic. Student numbers on any course depend on the applications that the institution receives. If a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of males and females, it would need enough applicants of each gender. In addition, many courses are more popular for a particular sex than the other, and it would not be practical to aim for equal proportions. For example, nursing courses tend to attract more female applicants, and it would be difficult to fill these courses if fifty per cent of the places needed to go to the males. Nevertheless, apart from the practical concerns expressed above, it would be unfair to get admission in university courses on gender. Universities should continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications. Consequently, both men and women have the same opportunities, and applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard to achieve good grades at school. If a female student is the best candidate for a place on a course, it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with lower grades or fewer qualifications. Thus, the quota system should not be enforced in this regard, because talented student would be deprived. In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure.