In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on television and in computer and video games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, crime rates in nations have been soaring drastically. Many believe that this is stemming up from the exposure of violent images on various media platforms such as computers, televisions and video games. I strongly support this notion, and in this essay, I will elaborate on how and why these sources are impacting adversely the mind of youngsters and even adults. One of the prominent reasons behind the encouragement of violence from the mass media is their appealing nature. Indeed, advancement of technology has not only prevailed the good deeds, but incurred many wrong practices as well among people, especially, in the younger generation. Eighty percent of the militants in Islamic state have been recruited over the internet by deluding them into romantic promises, and religious beliefs of true jihad. Even though the same content can be circulated via any other medium, the manifestation from the widely used web certainly makes a huge difference. Furthermore, it allows to radicalize people because of constant availability no matter where you exist in the world. Another chief factor is the prominent people like celebrities, involved in promoting this ideology. Unknowingly only, in order to make society aware of the prevalent crimes, directors and movie actors showcase heinous crimes on their platforms. For instance, a few years back, a movie released to demonstrate the atrocities of the communities, placing on the timid women to raise awareness. However, it turns out in another way, infusing wrong ideas into the young minds. Many nations have internal committees who scrutinize the shows and cinema before they gets available to the public, however, many times these thoughts gets slips by the judging members. And, even impossible to restrict over the internet which is ubiquitously present worldwide. In conclusion, I strongly agree that in the contemporary world, media is playing an indispensable role in shaping the mind of the individuals, be it good or bad. And, it is vital that we take the conscious efforts in choosing the content for us and our children watch.