In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customer travels to large shopping centre and mall to do shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

Due to globalization, more and more people opt to do their shopping, from shopping malls which results in the closing of many local shops. In my opinion, this is a positive trend as customers’ money and time is saved, however, this is also a negative trend as these small shop owners get bankrupt. On the one hand, shopping from the shopping centre saves the time and money of the consumers which are the main reason why I think it is a positive development to a certain extent. This is because, there are shops all under one roof, such as groceries, electronic appliances, clothes and cinema halls. Hence, consumers do not have to roam a lot to various shops for buying their essential goods and waste energy. Moreover, these shops under malls provide a lot of discounts and offer to their end-users, such as 50% off or Buy 1 and get 1 free. By this way, the consumer gets a benefit a lot. Overall, because of such malls, the customers’ time and money are saved a lot. On the other hand, the primary cause of why it is a negative development because many local shops are getting closed and owners are becoming bankrupt. To elucidate, the majority of end-users are buying their necessary goods from such a shopping centre because of huge discounts and offers, hence, they are less inclined to buy from the local market. This results in not having enough income to support or run the shops as well as family, and at last, such shops are windup or closed permanently from the market. For example, in the recent article by the Times of India revealed that there are many bankruptcy cases found in the local banks because of shutting down of the local small shops due to the opening of many malls in the market. In conclusion, in my view, although saving of time and money buying essential goods from malls is a positive development, many small vendors become bankrupt and could not support their family is a negative development.