Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued by some that people who are not native speakers of a language face immense problems in their country of living. I disagree with this opinion as language is just a tool for communication and irrespective of the lack of proper knowledge of the native tongue, people live and prosper in alien conditions as long as they mingle with society. Firstly, due to the impact of globalization, individuals often go to other countries and work there. While most of these people are non-native speakers, they are often judged based on their behaviour, but not because of their lack of language skills. For example, every year, more than 40 thousand Indians go to the USA in H1-B visas. Though their knowledge of English might be at the intermediate level or below, they are widely accepted by society because of their hard work and the economic prosperity they bring into the local community. Secondly, problems that might arise due to not fully knowing a foreign language might be a temporary issue. People who migrate to a new place know that they are there for a reason and they would work hard to make themselves comfortable with learning the language quickly. Moreover, countries that encourage immigration often test language skills before allowing people to come and stay. For instance, countries like Canada, Australia and England require the applicants to have an IELTS band score of 6 and above. Thus the chances of migrants suffering due to language issues are minuscule. In conclusion, though the knowledge of the local language is necessary to some extent to survive in society, the problems that arise in not knowing the local dialect is nearly negligible. People who are willing to migrate must learn the local culture and work on being a valuable contributor to the community they choose to live.