Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news event. Do you think the advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages

A certain number of people use social platform to stay connected to individuals, reports and events. I believe that the benefit of social networking outweighs the risk because it provides easy access to extensive information. However, it could also make individuals in the community less social. Firstly, one major demerit of social media could be less socialization amongst individuals in a society. People spend more time on their mobile devices, chatting with virtual friends and keeping tabs on their favourite celebrities. For example, my best friend who is a socialite attended a party in her neighbourhood. She noticed that people at the gathering, barely interacted with her or anyone else because they were so engrossed with their mobile phones. The party was so boring she had to leave after a few minutes. Consequently, the use of internet platforms has made socializing in the community almost non-existent. Secondly, I opine that the merit of internet platform could be providing easy access to information and instant connectivity to populace around the globe. A variety of social media applications such as Instagram, Facebook and WhatsApp are being used by individuals daily. Moreover, they use these social media platforms to relate to people, get updates of news reports and activities that occur worldwide. This has more benefits than drawbacks. For instance, when I use my Instagram account I can keep tabs on news, various popular occasions and also interact with my family living abroad. Thus, this has made global interaction and obtaining vast information effortless. In conclusion, I believe that the advantage of this technology by far outweigh the disadvantage because social networking makes it easy to stay connected to people as well as keeping up to date with reports and events worldwide.