Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

At present days, lots of people are prone to spend the majority of their leisure time looking at their phone. During long layoffs, time between classess, or waiting for a bus, many people choose to look at their screen rather than talk to others or engage with their surroundings. There are several factors causing this phenomenon to occur to our society. The first obvious factor is the availability and the accessibility of entertainments in our gadgets. In our phones, there are tons of activities that we can do to fill our free time such as playing video games, listening to music, and watching videos or movies, and they are all easy to access by everyone as long as they possess the internet data. Meanwhile, non-phone activities, if compared to those available at phones, are more limited and, sometimes, take more efforts. Knitting, for instance, requires various equipments and cannot be undertaken everywhere. Thus, it motivates people to just spend time using their gadget where it is simple. In addition, social media also plays a vital role for this to happen. Since human is a social creature, they will have a demand to keep socializing, especially those with extroverted personality. The social media like Facebook, Twitter, and Instagrams become the answer for the problem as it enables human to fulfill their social needs everwhere at all times, including their free time. Also, they, at some cases, prefer to speak with someone familiar. It explains why someone, during a bus wait full of strangers, instead of talking with the person next to him, choose to be online in social media and have a chat with someone they know. Therefore, social media becomes the supplementary reason for people to look at their gadget most of the time. Speaking of the impact, I think this social phenomenon has led to a negative development as it not only affects a person's interpersonal relationship but also his personality. Spending too much time online may decrease someone's social skill and, eventually, make them become introverted. If this keeps happening for an extended period of time, many people will lose interest in real-life activities and chatting.