Some people believe that the effective way to reduce industrial pollution is to tax the companies which cause these types of pollution. others think that there are other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often believed by some people that applying the high rate of tax helps to reduce the industrial pollution, whereas others believe that there are other various solutions to reduce this problem. In my opinion, other measures like proper government guidelines and incentives and rewards programs are more effective rather than levying higher tax rates. This essay will first discuss the merits of high taxes, secondly alternative solutions to control the pollution, followed by the conclusion along with the reason. Admittedly, imposing high duty fees for manufacturing and production companies forces them to reduce carbon emission or waste produced by their operations. That is to say, if there are high taxes applied, companies will produce fewer products, which will ultimately help to manage the wastes. For example, in 2019, Chinese ministry has raised the tariff percentage for companies and the waste materials have reduced by 35% in comparison to 2018. On the other hand, firstly, authority should lay proper guidelines and create limitation for the emissions. If a company follows those instructions and directions, it is just like a piece of cake to control the environmental contamination. Secondly, various incentives and rewards program can motivate authorities to reduce the pollution. That is to say, certain rate reduction scheme can be granted to firms that decrease their pollution. In addition to this, the government can grant loans at a discounted rate for those firms who minimize their toxins. For instance, In Japan the loan interest is lower by 1.5% of those companies who produce less carbon emission and wastes in comparison to other firms. In conclusion, although imposing high tax rates for companies can somehow control the pollution, but another measure like proper government regulations and various incentives and honour activities will help to encourage companies to be more innovative and reduce their industrial impurity.