Some People think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed by some that the government should not waste resources on arts and culture. They argue that these valuable finances should rather be utilized somewhere else, worthwhile. I disagree with this statement and consider that it is important to keep the culture of a nation alive, because of several reasons. It is granted that the government should focus and give priority to welfare projects like uplifting the health care facilities and education. But it does not mean that it should be at the cost of cutting the funds to the arts and culture.  The most important reason, why finances to the arts should not face any cut downs, is because it is not self-sustainable. In other words, often museums and art galleries have some means of generating a fund of their own, by ticket prices and so forth, but it is not enough to keep them alive. Thus, if the government will start ignoring this valuable heritage, it will result in cultural demise that equals to lose a nation's identity. Furthermore, to pass on the cultural values to the progenies is another factor that mandates the government's funding for the work of arts. Since customs and artistic expressions of a country are deemed necessary for its identification, they also play a vital role in infusing the patriotism amongst the successors. For example, in the absence of museums and cultural shows, the young generation will probably never value their lineage, heritage, and customs. Resultantly, they can forget the history and culture of their own, and start adopting the foreign culture, which often carries a negative impact on the patriotic spirits. For instance, the Turkish government is promoting plays and serials to keep their history and culture alive, nowadays, much of which had already been forgotten. Thus, the responsibility of passing on the heritage and arts to the next generations rests on the shoulders of the governments. In conclusion, from my perspective, I strongly feel that the government should support arts and culture because they are not self-sustaining, but vital for a nation's identity and patriotism. Thus a government, if it cannot add to the support of arts and culture, should not impose financial constraints on this important social aspect either.