Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, we have observed an increase in the popularity of alternative medicine. There has been a significant increase in the number of people preferring it over conventional medicine. In my opinion, this is a positive development because alternative medicine has shown promising results over the years. This essay aims to substantiate this assertion. To begin with, alternative medicine includes aspects of medicine that are non-traditional. It includes practices such as yoga, meditation, Ayurveda, homeopathy, and acupuncture. These methods have nearly no side effects, moreover, they might help to alleviate the side effects of medicines or therapies given in traditional medicine. Additionally, these techniques focus on improving overall health and focus on the entire body at once, in comparison to conventional medicine, which treats one part of the body at one time. For instance, empirical evidence gathered from various studies has shown that yoga and meditation have helped thousands of people who deal with various illnesses, affecting different parts of their body, for centuries. Furthermore, there has been evidence that people suffering from chronic diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis and diabetes show substantial improvement with alternative medicine. Nevertheless, alternative medicine does have a few drawbacks. It is a long-term therapy and cannot be used for treating acute problems. However, I believe that when combined with traditional medicine, these techniques can help patients profoundly. In conclusion, alternative medicine is developing at a fast pace and is helping to cure people suffering from various chronic diseases. Therefore, I strongly believe that it is beneficial for the community, however, it should not be chosen instead of traditional medicine, but rather used along with it for better results.