Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Many studies have been conducted to understand human psychology. One of the research suggests that characteristics inherited during the birth are the most important factor affecting our personality and development rather than all the other experiences we may incur during our course of life. It is a prominent factor to build an individual psyche, but according to me, the most salient feature that moulds the human mind is the environment or the home in which he grows as it gives him the sense of right and wrong. Characteristics acquired during the birth is essentially roots which define the person's nature during his early years. They help him gain physical as well as mental attributes. But how much further a person takes up these features is really a matter of choice. For instance, a child born in an orphanage can inherit physical and emotional quotient from his biological parents, but his feelings could change depending upon what his foster parents teach him. Personality is wholly dependent upon the nature and the actions of the person. What one may choose to do, is what defines him. The teachings and the life lessons shared by parents, friends and tutors for one is the most eminent thing which develops the person's mentality. For example, good parents would always teach their kids to be more helpful and trustworthy, which will eventually positively affect how a person behaves. Hence, these sorts of experience will influence one's personality. To conclude, in my opinion, even if a person is born with some negative trait, it can be suppressed by the environment provided to him in which he grows.