Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, nations are more inclined to become self -reliant in the production of food items for its mass. In my opinion, the benefits outweigh the negatives during the times of crises like corona virus pandemic as well as it provides healthier dietary options to consumers. States should become self -sufficient in providing foodstuff like meat and vegetables to its population. The current global outbreak of Corona virus has disrupted food systems around the world, leading to a deterioration in the nutritional and health status of both the country, and its individuals. The trade restrictions have enhanced and some countries have barred the imports of products to avoid the spread of the virus. The countries dependent on imports can be on the verge of hunger and starvation. In the times of pandemics, countries should have self - dependent back up plans to provide sustainable diets to its pupil. The latest illustration is from India, which had made plans for limiting imports and encouraging domestic products. Domestic eatables give healthier diet options. The local nutriment is not preserved for a longer time using preservatives and chemicals, so it retains its nutritional value. Being rich in nutritional value it acts as immunity boosters which is required to fight the virus. Even the World Health organization has given guidelines to feed healthy and Vitamin C enriched nutrients to develop immunity against viruses and other disease. In conclusion, every part of the globe should minimize imports and encourage the use of domestic food products to maintain a stable economy during the times of crises.