Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs. How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food?

In this day and age, thanks to technological development, the lack of food and starvation are not considered severe problems. However, there is also a phenomenon that the majority of people do not pay attention to the method of food production, they only care about its cost. In this essay, I will discuss this issue and what elements affect the decision of people when they purchase food products. On the one hand, food -producing techniques seem not to be in individuals’ favour at the outset of this millennium. The younger generation nowadays tends to be so occupied with their daily basis that they rarely get enough time to cook by themselves. As a result, buying instant foods or going to restaurants and buying junk foods to save time becomes a new tendency. For example, with the same amount of money, it is less challenging to find good and convenient meals from a food vendor than spending the same cost but more time and endeavour buying ingredients and cooking yourself after a very exhausting day. Additionally, people who have a joint family also have to consider their finances which leads to the purchasing of cheap as well as a huge quantity of foodstuff. On the other hand, besides prices and production methods, there are other aspects that affect customer’s buying habits, namely the origin of food. Conventional farming methods utilize a great number of pesticides and fertilizers that not only damage our environment and ecosystem but also pose a detrimental threat to human health. Hence, people prefer buying food that is examined and has a clear origin. For instance, plants grown with an organic method that uses no pesticides and artificial chemicals are believed to be good for health so most consumers are fond of it regardless of its higher price. In addition, housewives are usually concerned about the freshness. It is obvious that we can not make a delicious meal if its ingredients are low quality. In conclusion, I am not persuaded by the idea that everyone prioritizes the price when purchasing food as other elements are also paid attention to as they directly affect the food's nutritional value as well as people's health.