Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every Phase of life has its own charm, and is unique in its own way. Often people deem adolescence as the happiest phase of their lives while others argue adulthood is more enjoyable. Both teenage and grown-up soul has something new to offer. In this essay, I will discuss both the views before reaching a reasoned conclusion. Many people often believe, that teenage life should be re-lived as it is filled with many beautiful moments to cherish. Moreover, as adolescents, there is no obligation to pay the bill, support the family, or any social responsibility that adults have. In Addition, they get to spend a lot of time with their peers, which helps in developing a sound mind and a feeling of contentment with the small things. To exemplify, the data from the US National Study of Adolescent Health, recorded the happiness and wellbeing score in the age of “13- 19” is 85% higher than that in “20-30”. Therefore, youngsters cherish their childhood. On the other hand, adult age is a roller-coaster ride, the grownups enjoy much more than teens. Not only, they are financially independent, but also experience full freedom without any parental interventions. Adulthood, not only brings maturity, but also the capability of turning dreams into reality. With the ability to earn and spend money at their own accord, when they check off each item from the bucket list, brings them abundance of happiness. The appetite for achievement, inquisitiveness to conquer the world and to lead a luxurious life are few things that adults look forward to. To recapitulate, both adulthood and teenage are a crucial phase of growth. No wonder, lack of responsibilities makes life joyous for adolescence, however, the realization of one’s aspirations, in adults is memorable. The difference is that in childhood, a dream is nurtured whereas in adults, it is manifested.