Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does. Do you agree or disagree.

With the advancements in technology, education through media has become increasingly common. Some individuals would argue that this is as beneficial as studying at an academic institution but I disagree with this opinion. This essay discusses the shortfalls of learning through distance programs. To begin with, we can get abundant information from different sources like Television, Internet etc., But to understand this information, a mentor is important. Only a teacher can deliver the true knowledge by interpreting the vast information as he has experience and intelligence which cannot be provided by the online sources. For example, if a student has doubts in any subject, an instructor can immediately solve that query while in distance learning, a student has to dig it by himself from other resources. In addition, classroom environment also plays a significant role in the studying process. Our mindset is prepared to learn when we are in college or university. We cannot follow the same routine at home as we lack the motivation provided by tutors and peers. Another important benefit of classroom teaching is group study as we learn more when we practice together. For instance, in a group presentation, we have the opportunity to know the viewpoints of other people as well as our faults. This can assist in improving our knowledge, behaviour and confidence which are very essential to succeed in life. To conclude, I strongly believe that although distance education is becoming popular due to time saving, it cannot replace the advantages of in-class learning as they lack the atmosphere required for studying.