Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

There is a rapid growth in community of advanced countries, thus the availability of food is to feed the growing population which is a challenge. There is an argument among the experts that authorities should explore the way of Genetic engineering to increase the production of food grains. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using genetically modified crops. To begin with, making a choice of advance crop is to improve the farmer's income by increasing the production. In addition, these crops help in reducing the use of insecticides and pesticides which leads to the cultivation of healthy food grains. Also, this technique grows crops by stacking them one over another, and therefore, these crops require a small area for its farming. For example, jute in India is genetically modified, due to which there is elevation in farmer's economic condition. On the flip side, modified grains increases the cost of cultivation leading to the marketisation of farming which are based on immoral profits. As advanced crops are not natural they may posses risk to human health. Apart from that, harvesting crops using this technology have an environmental imbalance issue which can create disturbance in the growing process of crops.To illustrate, genetically modified vegetables results in high risk of hypertension and skin allergy. To conclude, there are merits and demerits of growing crops using GM technology. However, completely replacing this with traditional farming will lead to increase in health related problems as well as imbalances of the ecosystem.