Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution is becoming a matter of great concern nowadays. It is suggested by a few that the citizens in a country can not do much in this regard, and hence only governments and big industries can take the remedial measures. I disagree with the suggested solution and consider that this alarming situation brings more responsibilities to every individual. To hold the government and bigger firms responsible for the environmental pollution does not free individuals of a country from their duties towards protecting their surroundings. In other words, individual's actions play a remarkable role in combating the growing menace of bad air in various cities. For instance, to use electric cars instead of those that run on the fossil fuel can effectively decrease the smoke and noise pollution in the metropolitan cities. This is because this latest technology does not add harmful gases in the air, which is the case when orthodox, less eco-friendly car engines are used by the public. Thus, if every individual in a city or the country start using these cars, it can result in cleaner and fresher air to breathe in. Another important measure that can be taken at an individual level to save our habitat is by encouraging individuals to take part in the community activities. By this I mean that if the public is encouraged to participate in communal works by sparing some time like cleaning a beach or a regional park on holidays, it can result in a cleaner surroundings. Therefore, this highlights that individuals shoulder a huge responsibility towards saving their habitat. Finally, to educate individuals regarding the benefit of bio-degradable material instead of lesser suitable material can also help in alleviating the atmospheric problems. Plastic is one such example, condemning the use of which can probably help in reducing the heaps of non-recyclable garbage. To conclude, I strongly believe that individuals play a great role in making their atmosphere clean. The use of the electric cars and participation in the communal programmes are a few effective solutions that can bring an enormous change in the environment. Hence, it is suggested that the government should create awareness amongst its citizens regarding how to safeguard their environment from getting polluted, besides taking effective steps.