Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

One of the major threats of the world today is the release of toxic waste in water bodies. The reasons underlying the above phenomenon is the industrialisation and urbanisation. Water pollution has a devastating effect on living beings under water as well as on land as intake of toxic water deters the health and proves to be fatal. Water pollution has been one of the major concerns of global Summits for the environment. Out of the 75% water availability on the earth only 2.5% is fresh water out of which only 1% are accessible for drinking. According to the recent data from the International association of Environmental protection, Geneva, every year, 2 million tons of sewage, agricultural and industrial waste is dumped into rivers making them permanently contaminated. This has happened because of the overgrowing population, urbanisation and industrialisation. Governments all around the globe realise the repercussions of polluting water. According to the Global water and sanitation report, 2020, water born diseases are the number one killer of children under 12. In fact 3.1% of the deaths around the world are due to infections from contaminated water. This is not restricted to humans only, as the animals dependent on inland waters face the same. According to the latest report from the United Nations, around 24% mammals and 12% birds connected to inland waters are considered threatened. Undersea habitats cannot survive in contaminated waters. Every year tons of fishes die due to drastic reduction in oxygen level beneath the surface. In conclusion, Water pollution is detrimental to the health of all living beings and strict measures should be taken by authorities to stop the defilement of Water bodies.