Earlier, people wore clothes which were related to their culture but now people wear the same type of clothes all over the world. Is this a positive or negative development ?

The highly globalized and modernized world of today has precipitated the integration of fashion along with conspicuous lifestyle and cultural changes across the globe. Consequently, individuals nowadays are following a similar pattern while choosing clothes as compared to the past where people usually prefer attires that represent their culture. I vehemently espouse that the merits of this development far outweigh its demerits. To begin with, when people wear similar clothes, they can feel a sense of unity with others despite of the existence of diverse ethnicities. This trend will also encourage individuals to submerge their caste, colour and creed differences and will promote stronger relationships in the otherwise fragmented and displaced world. For instance, it is widely known fact that Muslim women often have to face racial slur in the western countries owing to the practice of wearing hijab for protecting their Muslim identity. Therefore, the predisposition to opt for similar clothing breeds universality and reduces parochial attitude. Furthermore, the global fashioned outfits are more comfortable in comparison to the apparels that are more traditional and ethnic. For example: a recent study in India highlights that the younger generation prefers normal jeans and T-shirts while going to colleges or shopping as they are more convenient and saves time instead of traditional garments such as, sarees. Conversely, while many believe this arrangement to be a panacea for the modern world, few consider it as an anathema, owing to the threat to the indigenous culture. Hence, there is a need to preserve the custom of wearing ethnic outfits as they depict one’s culture, roots and gives unique characteristics to the community. In addition, if we fail to discern the importance of these garments, our rich cultural heritage will be deeply affected. To conclude, I strongly encourage the trend of similar clothing worldwide as it will ameliorate the feeling of oneness, however, one must not forget their own unique customs and traditions.