Some say that secondary schools should spend less time on traditional subjects such as history and should spend more time on teaching communication skills and business courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

It is generally believed that, the high school education should render more hours on edifying conversation skills and marketing tactics rather than to imbibe in them ancient subjects like history. I partially agree with the given statement and feel that, although, inculcating verbal skills and managerial courses in this global technological era is inevitable, the importance of subjects which unfolds our past cannot be overlooked. In this essay, I will discuss both the perspectives with relevant examples. To begin with, the advantages of learning the communication skills and practical business tricks are multitudinous. Firstly, they would make a learner fluent in conversation and imparts confidence while handling projects; working in the multinational companies because there is high demand in this global village for speakers with master skills while it may be the business or soft skills. Furthermore, considering the technological automation, one should have the prominent product selling techniques to maintain their feet in the market full of competitors. This trend will make an individual self-reliant and competent in this competitive world.Indeed, these practical aspects will make them manage the opportunities that will come in their front and make them capable to survive by earning ample money. Thus, the younger generation should need to understand the hands-on importance of such fields and it will have a positive impact on their lives and on society, today and in the future. On the flip side, there would be certain issues, if the subjects like history will be denied at higher education.Through historical study, one can pursue a career in this wide array of field and can opt to go to the law school or delve into politics because they will possess knowledge that will help them make choices that affect society. Moreover, history will make them a better citizen, imbibing in them the relics and the constitution of the nation and capable of making preferred decisions about current issues, research and technology. For example, an individual cannot be successful in any profession, if he does not know about the background of the same like a doctor learn about the summary of each theory from ancient technology and a sports-person knows the tactics and basics by studying the past. Hence, history also plays a paramount significance in the curriculum of the secondary education. To conclude, I opine that, although, communication skills and business practices are subjects that are indispensable due to today’s cut-throat competition in this global village, the knowledge about the past cannot be denied as it is advantageous for all concerned.