Some people say that parents should place restrictions on the time their children spend watching TV and playing games and encourage them to spend this time reading books. Do you agree or disagree?

The majority believes that parents should ensure that their wards have lesser leisure time, and do more of studying. I concur with this notion, and it would be proven beyond reasonable doubt in this essay. To begin with "all work and no play make Jack a dull boy" students still need to have some time to relax and chill out, but if children are not closely monitored by their parents, they tend to spend more time watching cartoons or playing games because they get engrossed. This, obviously, affects their assimilation rate and may eventually have a negative impact on their performances in school. Mothers and fathers should then make a conscious effort to curb their ward from this act in other not to affect their academics. This responsibility lies more on the mother because she is closer to the children and spend more time with them. Therefore, making a schedule for children's programmes will be a brilliant idea. For instance, I have planned schedule that my wards follow strictly especially during the weekend, they study after breakfast and watch television for one or two hours before they go back to study. Moreover, parents should always be observant of the kind of programs being watched by their wards. There are some violent programs that could endanger the Students lives. Also, violent films are on the increase in the society, which could hinder the children from focusing on their studies. They tend to learn different atrocious manners that could affect their future. Apparently, having total control over the kind of programmes children watch is crucial. There are educational and informative channels that could boost the mental ability of adolescents on television. Consequently, if adolescents listen to these programmes their academic performance will be excellent. Another point is that children could learn and develop skills by playing games like scrabble and word puzzle. For instance, children who are good at word puzzle have higher grade in their English, in contrast, if this is not followed up by what is being taught in class, it becomes unrealistic. In conclusion, there is a saying that " an idle hand is the devil's workshop" therefore, parents should monitor their wards and restrict them from violent programs. Mothers should take responsibility and give necessary advice to their wards because their future start now.