Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.   Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that the core problem of the world today is the extinction of manifold species, whereas others argue that we should focus on other environmental crisis instead. In my view, I would totally agree with the latter. On the one hand, wildlife does wonders for the development of humankind as a whole. First and foremost, certain species are of paramount importance in agriculture of every country throughout the world. For example, bees help farmers in the pollination process which is referred to as the most essential step to have a prosperous crop at the lowest cost. Furthermore, certain herbs are irreplaceable in supporting scientific research to come up with specialized medicines for certain diseases as the contemporary scientists have not yet found alternative substances. Ginseng, for instance, is renowned for its phenomenal effects in rejuvenating elderly people’s health in China and Vietnam. On the other hand, people are facing more urgent environmental issues such as air pollution and noise pollution. Firstly, the booming development of industrial zones have resulted in the exacerbation of the air quality in metropolitan areas. The increasing mortality related to respiratory disorder annually is the most obvious evidence of this hazardous situation. The first problem links to the second one. Obviously, the manufacturing areas are the main cause of what people call noise pollution today as it is inevitable to create deafening noises to run manufacturing chains in any factories. As a result, citizen’s health in the vicinity is in devastating danger and costly to have treatment in the long-term. In conclusion, although the existence of certain species of animals and plants provides undeniable benefits for humankind, I strongly believe that we should pay more attention on the development of our own lives.