Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that the university students must be allowed to study whatever interests them. While others say that they should only study subjects which will be helpful for their careers. Although studying subjects they are interested can enhance their overall performance in the finals, I believe that learning important subjects are more important for obtaining a job. On the one hand, students are more motivated when they study their favourite course. In other words, they understand the core concept quickly and understand them with ease, scoring better score in exam and as a result, it will be useful for them in pursuing their dream job. In England, for example, its mandatory for students to choose the subjects they like to study in the universities and colleges to encourage various skills. However, I believe that this method is not useful in fetching employment opportunities. Conversely, some argue that university student must be allowed to study those subjects which are important for their employment. That is to say, Doctors and computer engineers have got crucial value in the market and mastering these courses will fetch an individual with a job that offers high salary. For instance, Cisco a company of computer networking, offers $80,000 per annum to the newly graduated college students who scored high grades in computer subjects. Thus, I believe that building skills in these subjects that are science and technology are vital for building a career. In conclusion, while there are arguments in favour of students choosing subject in which they have an interest, I reckon choosing subjects based on the employment to be better as this will ensure a safe career and will provide them high wages which is needed for an hour in this inflation.