More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why?Who benefit more from this, the community or these young people?

There has been an ongoing trend of many young people from prosperous nations deciding to spend their time doing a volunteer task in underprivileged countries. Some of the prominent reasons for this phenomenon will be discussed, before the benefits of both individuals and developing countries are analysed. There are several convincing reasons associated with this practice. The most significant factor is that doing such unpaid job in poor countries would be a comparative advantage for the young when applying for a job in the future. In other words, in this fierce and competitive job market, a candidate possessing an application file accompanied by only great scores could not be the ideal one that a recruiter is found; therefore, he or she needs outstanding volunteering experience to be able to compete with other rivals. Another reason that is worth mentioning is that younger generations could engender the feeling of community when participating in unpaid work. Their voluntary efforts help to give prominence to the value of sharing and the sense of social responsibility to secure improved humanity and international awareness about disadvantaged places. In addition to benefits for younger people, the poor society also received lots of support. In fact, the benefit these activities bring to undeveloped countries, it's much greater than it seems to be. In the short term, the poor people are helped to build their houses and their children are well taught. Then, in the near future, the citizens in rich countries will have great power to make changes in the world. Clearly, their old experiences of undeveloped countries will make them feel more responsible for helping the poor. Also, their knowledge of poor societies also enables them to make plans that are actionable. To sum up, the requirement of more competitive profile and the determination to support financially disadvantaged countries are the two principal elements that make young people join a wide range of voluntary activities. I would contend that both the volunteers and the community are the beneficiaries of the practice above.