New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

We live in an era where technology has changed the way of living, especially for kids. The modern world is equipped with many things which can impact the child’s mind in both negative and positive ways. However, disadvantage of growing dependency on technology outweighs the advantages. This essay will discuss both views in the following paragraph. To begin with the advantages, internet and multimedia is filled with a plethora of information and updates which a child can use to develop their mind and learn new things in their free time. They can use this platform to explore almost anything and guide their way to success. For example, it is often said by many entrepreneurs that they got inspired from the information available online. Moreover, place like social media would help them to feel connected with the world and explore what they really wish to achieve in their life. On the contrary, we cannot overlook the disadvantages of this glorified world. Kids are becoming addicted towards gaming and social media because of which they are developing health issue such as obesity and weak eyesight. They can spend hours in sitting in a place while playing games and surfing explicit content. For instance, last year data shows, 60% of teenagers are overweight and addicted to pornography in India only. Furthermore, they are spending less time with their parents and friends due to the internet, they become impolite and rude in behaviour which further deteriorates the bond between them. To sum up, advancement in technology has both pros and cons. But it is clear that the disadvantages are destroying more things which advantages cannot repair.