Today more people are travelling than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of traveling for the traveller?

Mankind has always been fascinated by exploring the deepest corners of the world. The volume of people travelling to different parts of the earth has increased tremendously nowadays. The reasons for such a surge in human movement are technological advancements in commercial aviation and increased affordability. People who travel the world also get benefited from developing a better understanding of different cultures and becoming self-dependent. Due to improved flight technology and cheap fares, the tourism industry is booming. Commercial planes have come a long way since the early days of flying. Modern aircrafts are able to carry more passengers due to the sophisticated technology. For instance, a journey that used to cost INR 50,000 per person from New Delhi to New York ten years ago now costs only INR 25,000 per person. Overall, the rise in the number of travellers is enabled by advanced technology and reduced costs. Having encountered varied landscapes and communities, a person is benefitted by growing wider knowledge of diverse cultures and by becoming independent. People who travel the world come across various dialects and ways of the local people, which widens their perspective. Additionally, while on the road, an explorer has to manage things like commute and food on his own; this gives a sense of independence. A recent study conducted at Harvard states that people who have travelled at least some parts of the world tend to be more progressive in their thinking and are more self-reliant. Hence, it can be deduced that travelling enables people to understand varying customs and become independent. In summary, modern-day flight technology and reduced travel expense are major reasons for an upward trend in tourism. Furthermore, there are huge merits associated with visiting different parts of the world, such as a better experience of numerous human traditions and increased reliance on self. To conclude, it can be said that humankind embraced travelling like never before and are enjoying the bounties it has to offer.