The effects of manufactured products on the individual and society

The Industrial Revolution gave birth to mass production. Which in turn made manufactured products accessible to the average Joe. Now, in the modern era, no stone was left unturned. Everything from cakes, cars and medicine are mass produced. So much so that it is engrained in our lifestyle as a human living in the modern era. This of course has its own sets of benefits and drawbacks, but the pros far outweigh the cons, which will both be further discussed in this essay. First, we will discuss the main problem that manufacturing introduces. The age old debate that "people are losing their jobs." This is due to the everlasting search for efficiency and productivity, machines are far superior than humans in doing monotonous work cramped together in factories. This, however, does not mean that people are losing their jobs. It means that new job opportunities have opened. From creative designers working in the 3D space, machine specialists operating robots, to engineers handcrafting modern machinery. The possibilities are endless. Not only that, the increase in brain intensive jobs put even more stress on the importance of education, making the society smarter overall. Now to the benefits. Increased production means that people can attain crucial products such as medicine, food and water much quicker. In a global disaster, this can thus be the difference between life and death. One instance would be in the case of a global pandemic, such as the Covid 19 outbreak. Where test kits were mass produced and distributed to countries experiencing the virus. This has allowed countries such as Korea and Japan to identify hazardous individuals who have the virus and nullify their threat. As such, they can keep the death toll to a minimum. In contrast, the Bubonic plague fiasco shook the Earth when no medicine had been invented for it, same like Covid 19 but due to the lack of medical equipment, doctors could not treat the patients and millions died in the process. In conclusion, manufactured products are a positive development in the path of human evolution and will surely help mankind in achieving success in the future, whether through medical or technological breakthroughs.