It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that young students ought to know about the history of their own rather than concentrating on the global history. In my opinion, I agree with this suggestion and believe that it helps a child to develop a better understanding regarding his lineage and foster patriotism. It is granted that school children should learn about the global history because it equips them with an information regarding different cultures and historical events that have happened or existed in the distant past. In other words, an insight into the world's atrocities like the Holocaust, provides these students with a chance that they can learn to appreciate the right and wrong. Moreover, as adults, they can take measures to avoid repeating these devastations in future. However, students should focus more on the history of their own rather than laying emphasis on the foreign histories. One of the foremost reasons for this is that the younger students can learn about their ancestors. To put it simply, the information like who their forefathers were and what were their norms and customs, can probably help them to value their own culture and traditions. This education is particularly of a greater significance in the modern world. As globalization is resulting in a cultural mix-up, the need to keep the local customs alive is rather more important. The best way to safeguard this cultural identity is by learning the history and portraying it to the youth in the form of cultural shows, drama serials and literature books. Another important reason to prefer studying the local history over a global one, is because of the patriotism that it nurtures amongst the young generation. Local history often describes: the sacrifices that the ancestors of a nation offered in the past, the reasons that led to the foundation of the country that they are living in. To know these details help in generating the patriotic emotions amongst the youth. Resultantly, they can realize the importance of their motherland and thus leave no stone unturned for its progress and safety. For instance, the Turkish government is displaying a number of such serials to highlight their cultural values, identity and historical glory that most of the young lot has forgotten long ago. To conclude, I strongly believe that school students should learn about their local history because it helps them to trace their roots and makes them more patriotic. It is suggested that