Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

Many people hold this opinion that, our character traits are predefined through heredity before birth, so changing them is simply out of the question. However, I do not completely agree with this notion because I believe genetic makeup is not the only determination of human individuality. This essay will further explain my ideas in detail. Together with heredity, there are other shapers of personalities, including culture and education. Specifically, cultural values affect the way people behave under certain circumstances while education acts as a foundation on which people build and develop their own personal trait. For example, a person might be genetically predisposed to being shy and simple – minded, but living in a highly – interactive and well-educated community, such as a cosmopolitan city, might lead an individual to be more confident and intelligent. In general, cultural and educational environments are the real keys to personality change. On the other hand, of course, the role of genes in the development of the personality is undeniable.Most genetic traits people were emotional patterns, that is natural states which hardly changes throughout one’s lifetime. To illustrate, some people are naturally more fearful than others and even when they reach adulthood, they still have phobias and tend to avoid scary things, such as horror movies. However, as mentioned above, genes are not the only crucial factor in forming a personality. Therefore, it is unlikely that inherited personalities will remain fixed and stable throughout the one’s life. In conclusion, although, genetic makeup has an immense influence on the development of personalities. This is not a sound reason to declare that our character traits will never change.