Some people think that economic progress is the only way to measure a country's success, while others think that there are other factors which can be used to measure a country's success.

Undoubtedly, all nations, around the globe, are competing with each other to become superior than another in terms of economical development. Some believe that a person's success can be only measured by its monetary situation. In my opinions, however, other factors, especially social well-being and public safety, should be the top priority. To begin with, this is fact that the first sign of a people's prosperity and growth can be judged by the living standard of their people. It's also believed that countries with better industries and resources drives its economic growth, consequently adding to the state's per capita income. Rich nations are affluent enough to invest more funds in public sectors for betterment of society. For instance, developed countries invest a large sum in healthcare, education and community halls and parks, which are the basic amenities for general well-being. Despite the above reasons, we cannot deny that nations with large proportions of rich population have higher mortality rates and a high crime rate. A standard example is America, where, as per latest reports, many people earning big paycheques are not satisfied with their life. One primary reason for this is the work and family imbalance, due to longer working hours. Moreover, because people are devoting more hours in their office, it's ruining their personal growth, and ultimately causing loneliness and anxiety. Another factor is the soaring crime rate, which spreads the fear in the minds of people and therefore, they are not able to enjoy the activity to the fullest. In conclusion, economic development is one of the criteria to judge a community's success. However, we should also consider other factors which sustain the social and psychological needs of the people.