Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up.

In the 21st century, when we're talking about equal rights for men and women, the process of child rearing can not be the sole responsibility of a mother. Although, some people with a conservative mind-set believes that women should take care of infant needs because she gives birth to her. However, in my opinion, I strongly condemn this belief, and will elaborate further in this essay to backing my opinion. Of late, due to prevalence of nuclear families, it is becoming even more crucial for parents to share this responsibly. In earlier days, people used to stay together in joint families and women usually stays inside the house and at that time, father is the only bread earner and therefore, his vital job is to support his family financially. Back then, mother used to take responsibilities for offspring, but she gets support from other family members. However, as the situation has changed now, since both parents are working to meet rising expenses, by sharing equal responsibilities, will not only reduces the burden on each other but developing a healthy relationship between them. Another reason for this is because it is difficult for a single parent to manage all responsibilities, especially when they are a newborn and needed critical care. On one hand, a mother can provide the emotional backing by giving undivided attention and love to an offspring, prepare healthy meals and teach them basic social behaviour; on the other hand, the father provides the financial support for expenses such as child's health and education. In conclusion, an infant is the equal responsibility of both parents and needs their love to be a healthy and responsible citizen. Today, when women are not confined to the four walls of the house and share responsibility with men outside the home, the father should help in upbringing the children.