Many scientific institutes conduct research on live animals. Some people regard it as cruel and unnecessary while others believe it is justified in the interest of human welfare. Discuss the two views and give your reasons. Give reason for your answer.

Inquiring about live creatures by educational institutes is regarded as irrelevant by the majority, while few individuals believe it is the best for the sake of humanity. This research is crucial in order to be aware of the advantages and disadvantages of these animals, and in contrast, may be irrelevant because people think it is a waste of resources and funding. To begin with, the importance of studying live animals cannot be over-emphasized because this will unveil information about them and by so doing, it will make the entire populace to be aware of the danger associated with this kind of animal. For instance, it is through findings that rabies vaccine was detected for dog bites which could lead to death in humans. Also, clinical trials involving animals such as mice and rats have made people to know deadly diseases that could be transmitted from these animals to human beings, for example, Lasser fever from rats. Moreover, few people could think that the research is not compulsory because it could take an arm and a leg, hence could be considered as a misplaced priority especially in developing countries like Nigeria and Republic of Benin. For instance, in Nigeria, Government allocates a significant part of the budget on research and the outcome has not been impressive. Apparently, citizens conclude it is just a way of making the inquiry leaders richer. In conclusion, carrying out an inquiry on live animals is beneficial and educative, most importantly, on the citizens of the country. In addition, when Government releases funds, it should be monitored, and feedback should be made compulsory in order not to defeat the purpose as the saying goes that" Anything worth doing at all is worth doing well".