The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last 10 years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

The quantity of obese children is rising in the western states at an alarming rate, since the last decade.  The main reasons which have led to this trend are sedentary lifestyles, absence of physical workouts and unhealthy dietary practices. There is a plethora of adverse effects that these overweight youngsters are causing to the communities. One of the most obvious causes of the growing obesity in children is their sedentary lifestyles. Since students are committed in their studies because of the tougher competitions, they are not left with an enough time for the extra-curricular activities or sports. Online games and the applications like Toutubekid, is another reason that has added to the juvenile obesity. As these games are addictive, the children waste their leftover leisure time in playing these games. Lastly, the eating habits in many communities are shifting from healthy dietary practices to the consumption of junk food. This type of food provides soft calories to these fast food-eaters that is hard to consume with the sedentary lifestyles. The juvenile obesity is putting a lot of burden on the health care facilities, particularly in the developed world. It is nurturing various medical ailments like heart and joint diseases amongst the youth that are seeking medical attention and costlier treatments from the age that was unheard of these diseases in the past. For instance, the typical age mentioned in literature for acquiring the heart problems is above 50 years. But obesity has caused these diseases to appear in individuals who are as young as 25 years of age. Thus, devastating financial strains on the existing medical resources is amongst the greatest threats of obesity that the economies are going to face in the near future. Furthermore, the trend of getting over-weight is casting a bad impact on the country's employment patterns. In other words, if every child will turn into an over-weight adult, they will be left to perform the white collar jobs or office work only. The society will face an acute shortage of those working hands who perform labour jobs like construction, that are deemed necessary for a country's progress.   To conclude, there is a need for countries to neutralize the leading causes of obesity amongst their younger generations. This is because the exponentially growing obesity is resulting in an over-stretched medical facilities and deteriorating work patterns.