Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Other think that children's time is better spent more academic subjects.

If Physical Education classes should be included in the curriculum for all children at school-age rather than spending more time on academic subjects is highly controversial debated. This essay agrees that Physical Education classes are essential as well as academic subjects. Firstly, this essay will discuss the pros and cons of focusing more on movement in schools and secondly, it will discuss the benefits and disadvantages of spending more time on academic subjects. All children would benefit from essential Physical Education classes because we know from science that sport is a contributing factor for health. A healthy body leads to a healthy mind. Especially children from not so well-educated families will profit from sport classes at school as they will probably not getting enough action at home. Besides all the positive effects of physical exercise on the psychological and physical well-being, there might be some negative effects on the psychological side - when children are getting bullied when they are disabled or in other ways disadvantaged by essential sports classes. Focusing on academic subjects will help the pupils to get a better understanding of what it is like going to university and therefore have a greater chance to prepare for that. Furthermore, learning at an academic level will broaden the mind which helps to get more self-confidence in life. On the other side, it could increase the pressure to perform better which could lead to psychological disturbances. To sum it up, I think physical education is as important as academic subjects because sports improves the mind and makes it easier to concentrate and the better someone is academically educated the greater the awareness of the importance of movement for the health.