In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem.

The hiking traffic congestion is a growing concern for many cities nowadays. The main reasons for this includes, decreased use of public transport and a lack of alternative means of travelling or mass transit projects. There are various measures that can prove effective in this regard. The unpopularity of public transportation is one of the main reasons that is causing traffic jams and transportation problems in various metropolitan cities of the world. Either non-availability or substandard public transport encourages public to use their personal vehicles that results in traffic issues, particularly during peak hours. A lack in alternative transportation infrastructure like the underground subways, trams and trains are yet another contributory factor that is proving insufficient for growing population causing a considerable choking of the roads. There are various steps that can be taken at both the government and individual level to fight this growing issue. Firstly, perhaps the most instantaneous results can be sought if the government encourages people to use public transport by making it more comfortable, convenient and cost effective. In other words, if the quality public transportation is made available to the citizens that is parallel to their personal cars in comfort, yet at a lower cost, can encourage people to prefer using public transport. For example, the public in the European countries prefers to use public transport rather than using one of their own because it is equally good and more affordable. Secondly, another factor that can be of great value in the long term, is to minimize the traffic congestion is by constructing newer transportation infrastructure. Since cities are expanding due to urbanization, it has resulted in the shrinkage of roads that are not enough to meet the transport requirement of a relatively bigger population. Hence there is a need to build alternate roads, ring roads, subways or rail tracks to divert the influx and avoid traffic jams. For instance, the construction of a new ring road around Lahore, the provincial capital of Punjab, Pakistan has resulted in negligible transport issues that used to be a big problem in the past. To conclude, encouraging public transportation and constructing the alternative transportation methods are the few solutions that can help in solving the growing issue of traffic congestion. It is therefore suggested that the authorities should focus on taking these measures in order to combat the traffic problems effectively.