Discipline is an ever-increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, self-restraint receives top concern of both schools and parents. While some people claim that it is the duty of teachers, others believe that parents are accountable for enforcing discipline. This essay will look at both sides and argue that parents occupy a vital role in shaping the children's behaviour and character. On the one hand, it is undeniable that schools play an integral part in educating children. There is no doubt that children gain considerable knowledge from teachers, mainly, scientific and social knowledge. It is highly unlikely that each teacher teaches the same standards of discipline for all pupils across all grades. For example, there are nearly 40 students in a class. It is difficult for the teacher to control the class and focus on individual students. The teachers tend to concern more about explaining the lesson and completing the course. Therefore, teachers are able to teach school subjects, but they do not have enough time to inculcate the value of discipline. On the other hand, I tend to agree with the view in favour of parents play a significant part in regulating righteous attitudes. This is because there are a long-lasting relationship and a strong bond between parents and children. Parents can easily observe the growth of the youngsters and direct them to the right path whenever they pursue some bad habits. For example, from my own experience, my mother always teaches me about self- discipline and guide me to behave delightfully. That being said, parents have an immense responsibility in educating their children about discipline. In conclusion, while schools are responsible for self-restraint, I hold the belief that parents should make an enormous effort to guide their children to behave appropriately and have self- discipline.