Governments should fund scientific research rather than commercial organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

Scientific research plays an important role in the advancement of any nation, and requires a lump sum amount to conduct the various investigation trials. However, the topic on its source of funding from either the government or private companies has always been debatable. In my view, the government should take the responsibility of handling and funding all the research projects rather than the commercial organizations. To begin with, the government is capable of granting the financial aid to all the studies done in the different fields. To elaborate, innovation of new spacecrafts or new vaccinations helps the nation in its development and thus, raising its standards. Conversely, the authority can bear the losses in case of any failure faced in such trials. Additionally, it works in the best interest of the public by keeping all the information confidential and not commercializing it. For example, all the tests done on nuclear energy or heavy metals are safely conducted keeping the public safety as the topmost priority. Moreover, the government will declare results in an unbiased fashion with no intentions of momentary benefits, and findings will be made freely available to the public for the use in their academic topics. Contrarily, the sole purpose of the commercial bodies in conducting the research assignments is the profit based. For instance, the studies done on the use of tobacco, alcohol, marijuana, fast foods or any other recreational products will not publicize the unbiased results because the companies do not want to decrease their sales and earnings. To recapitulate, I opine that the research trial and projects will be safe in the hands of the government bodies who will not manipulate the study results for their momentary gains and benefits.