Nowadays, people are spending more time away from their homes because they spend longer in their workplace. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

A competitive world demands a tight job schedule which has resulted in longer working hours and less time spending with the family and friends. Though, there are merits and demerits of such kind of the work culture, but in my view, a person should try to achieve the work life balance. On the one hand, employees work for an extended hours to earn more money, which helps in raising their standards of living. Additionally, giving extra efforts and hours to a company shows their level of sincerity and dedication to their employer and thus, further making them eligible for the various perks, incentives, promotions or salary hike. In fact, employee getting involved in the various job assignments by completing them gets a vast amount of experience and hence, supports them in widening their professional horizons and grabbing better career prospects. On the other hand, these highly strenuous jobs do put a strain on the mental and physical health of an employee as they do not get enough time to look after their health by doing regular exercise and eating balanced healthy diet. In fact, their hectic schedule has predisposed them to the various disorders associated with a sedentary lifestyle, such as cardiac disease, diabetes and obesity. Moreover, the people are not able to share the responsibilities of their family commitments which can further put strain in their marital relationship. Furthermore, they do not get enough leisure time to spend with their children and thus fail to strengthen the family bond of unity and harmony. To recapitulate, I opine that this growing world of materialism, a person must learn to achieve a balance between professional and family commitments in order to live a healthy and happy life.