Many people think that the government should spend money to explore outer space, while others think that it is a waste of public money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The debate of whether tax money should be used for space expeditions or not is yet to settle. While some people believe that it is equivalent to burning money, others disagree. I am inclined towards the former group, as we still have problems on earth, such as poverty. Space exploration can help humans find new elements, but also there are some planets where rare rocks are found in abundance. Whereas, Gold, which is the most precious element, is scarce on earth. It is also the basis of how we calculate the wealth of countries. Nevertheless, there are planets in our solar system which have gold in abundance. If we can mine and bring resources back to earth, the wealth of the world will increase many folds. Besides, we may find materials which will help us make better products for the people. To illustrate, batteries today are at a stage where any breakthrough is not expected because the longevity and capacity of a battery is dependent on the composition of the material used for the construction of its cells. In general, it all depends on luck. Although we have made tremendous strides when it comes to medical and scientific knowledge, there are still problems in many parts of the world. For instance, more than 33% of women do not have access to hygiene products. Furthermore, around 10% of the children are out schools, and more than 20% face stunted growth because of malnutrition. Although the cost of fixing these problems is not much, the money is being spent on space exploration. Moreover, because the technology used in a space shuttle and war missiles is quite similar, it may invoke an arms race between the countries. Overall, the money used for space exploration can be spent to make the lives of the people better on earth. In conclusion, while space adventures could benefit us, the probability of success is very low, and we have problems on earth that could use the money spent on space research. The public money should be spent for betterment of the people.