Young people often have ideas or attitudes that are different to those of their parents or grandparents. How do ideas and attitudes differ between generations in your society? Do you think that these differences cause any problems?

Since the end of the 20th century, the effects of generational gap have become more evident. Thus, the ideologies of the younger era differ in various ways from that of the older era. In my opinion, these variations cause problems. Therefore, the dissimilarities in opinions between generations in my community and the challenges they create will be discussed in this essay. To begin, a lot of young people in my community are developing a lackadaisical attitude towards marriage. Hence, they make little or no effort to get into relationships. Whereas, the older generation valued and idolised the institution of marriage. To illustrate, in my country Nigeria, several youngsters are opting to remain single and feel no obligation to be in relationships. Furthermore, the previous generations cherished cultural heritage. They valued language and communicated in their native tongue, while the youngsters of this era choose to speak English and slangs. For instance, my siblings and I prefer to converse with our parents in English even when they speak our dialect to us. Regarding the problems these variations cause in my society, firstly, things that were previously seen as uncustomary by the older people such as divorce and same-sex marriage are now perceived as normal. To illustrate, the number of broken marriages in my community is increasing, leading to a rise in the figures of children from dysfunctional homes. In addition, language is being lost. Some languages are going into extinction because certain younglings show no interest in learning them. For example, I can't speak my local dialect fluently, therefore, my native tongue is at risk of obliteration. In conclusion, the modern age has ideologies and opinions that differ from that of the older age in ways such as in relationships and cultural heritage. Also, they create problems like broken relationships and loss of language.