Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

The mode of communication is rapidly changing in the growing world of technology, where the majority of people prefer to communicate through texting rather than calling on the phones. This is because it’s convenient, time saving and cheaper in comparison to making a call. The number of its merits and demerits depends upon the circumstances and the type of the message to be delivered. Firstly, the texting is gaining trend among the youngsters who have a low level of confidence because it is easy to deliver messages without holding face to face interaction. Secondly, the texting helps in delivering the news of unfortunate incidents or on the difficult situations to the other person which is sometimes very hard to convey through the use of the telephone. Thirdly, this facility is provided free of cost by most of the telecommunication networks and the social media applications such as WhatsApp. Fourthly, it is convenient to drop the message at any time of the day, and the same can be replied by the receiver at his convenience. Fifthly, the conversation can be done in a secretive way through it when an individual is in the public place. Hence, this wholesome explains the benefits of the sharing the news and information through chatting. Contrarily, the immediate delivery of the messages is mostly done through the mobile phones because sometimes receiver takes time to respond to the typed conversation. In fact, the emotions and feelings are expressed more effectively through the verbal exchange on the mobiles, where texting can conceal your depressed mood. Additionally, the telephonic talk helps to develop the communication skills which are useful for the overall personality development of an individual. To recapitulate, though texting is a convenient mode of conversation, but the communication skills are developed by holding the telephonic conversations.