Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is universally acknowledged that people should put more effort into environmental issues. There is an ongoing debate about whether individuals can contribute to improving the environment or not. From my perspective, I completely disagree with the idea that people can do nothing to upgrade the place they live. First of all, in order to prevent the landscape from deteriorating, lots of actions can be taken by individuals, which can lead to the progress of the environment. Such simple things can be done, for example, taking public transportation can reduce the emissions emitted by cars; moreover, by conserving electricity, those powers such as fuel power and oil energy needed to generate electricity can be cut down therefore making the environment better. By doing so, humankind's abilities can make an extremely different and unlimited result thus improving the environment. However, I am not going to deny the influence that large companies and governments could have, they can also change the environment effectively in some ways. As for governments, enacting a regulation can have an efficient effect on improving the environment, because it can deter citizens and enterprises, thus reducing the possibility for them to damage the environment. In addition, those companies can similarly educate their employees to protect the places. In fact, all of the statements illustrate that despite the differences authorization can lead to, it is necessary for individuals to engage in accomplishing the goal shared by people around the world. In conclusion, what individuals can do to improve the environment is beyond people's imagination. Not only do those huge organizations support the idea of protecting the environment, but also people can help the environment get better.