Nowadays, many people buy household goods (like television, rice cookers etc). Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Most of the people these days purchase home appliances, for example, TV, cookers washing machines etc. I believe buying them is a positive development as these items reduces the workload of the house maker, saves energy and also keep the house entertained. To begin with, the usage of these household items has reduced fuel consumption immensely. For instance, a rice cooker hardly takes 10 minutes to cook the rice, whereas cooking it in any other vessel can consume more time and cooking gas. Same applies to washing machine where water and human efforts are reduced considerably. As a result, people would prefer to buy them since it saves cooking gas and water thereby saving money as well. In addition to it, products like TV entertains both the young ones and the elders in the family. To cite an example, as one grows old, their vision starts to fade, which would make reading a tiresome task for them. Hence, rather than reading the newspaper they can watch the news live to know what is happening around the world. Apart from that, most movies are telecast on TV, soon after they are released in theatres. Hence, families can find entertainment in the comfort of their homes by watching it in their home theatre. To conclude, the number of people buying household gadgets nowadays has increased. I believe purchasing these goods is a positive development as it play an important role in saving energy and also in entertaining both old and young generations.