It has been argued that giving gifts to friends and family should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people are not in favour of spending money on gifts, which are presented to family members or friends, as they think that they may not like it, and it could be a waste of money. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this statement because giving gifts is one way of strengthening family bonds, and it improves global economy. First and foremost, exchange souvenirs among family members is a good way to improve family relationships. This is because this kind of activities gives the sense of interest between the wife and her husband. Wedding anniversary, for instance, is a great chance to present love and care, which could make a close-knit family. However, if these kinds of actions are not present inside family, this may lead to divorce or troubles. Furthermore, it is evident that gifts are a big market around the world. The main reason is that many countries have a wide range of toy choices, which suits boys and girls. As a result, this may flourish the countries’ economic Baby toys, for example, is a billion dollar market in China, which has many people working there. In contrast, if people did not tend to buy gifts, this would affect the global economy, which leads to losing many job opportunities. In conclusion, I support the idea of exchanging souvenirs inside the family and to friends in order to improve the family relations, and it is an excellent way to enhance the international economy, and supply many job changes to people around the globe.