Studying art in school also improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that studying arts should be made compulsory in schools because it would improve the overall performance of the students and being multi-skilled, they can easily learn new things. However, I do not agree with this view and discuss it in the essay. One of the most important aspects of art subjects is that it could improve the social skills of the pupils. This is because the disciplines like music and theatre would help them to overcome their hesitation and boost their confidence to confront the crowd. For example, when a child sings a song in front of a huge audience, he/she become more confident than before. While it would be overwhelming to even stand on the stage for those who have never been in such a situation. Besides this, disciplines such as drawing and painting would enhance their imagination and creativity. Nevertheless, arts should not be obligatory in academia as compulsion would lead to pressure thus affects the students' performance. For instance, technical studies require a lot of concentration and hard work, and if those students are forced to attend music or dance classes, this would overburden them and reduce their concentration in the core studies. Moreover, arts could be made optional, so that those who are interested would take it by their own wish and would reap its benefits. This would not only reduce their stress, but also prepare them for the promising future. In conclusion, although art studies would enhance social skills and enhance creative thinking in pupils, I believe that it should not be made compulsory part of their curriculum as forcing is naturally averse to humans, and it would do more harm than good.