There are more cars on the roads these days and more accidents are happening. As a result, some people have suggested that people should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single test. What do you think are the advantages of repeat driving tests? Do these outweigh the disadvantages?

Travelling has become an integrated part of our life now. Along with this, our buying capacity has also increased, which has resulted in more people buying cars for their personal usage. Although, this may have been the cause of the increased road traffic and accidents, I believe this cannot be the reason to conclude that people will need to take driving tests on a regular interval. Firstly, driving is a basic life skill. Just like riding a bi-cycle, it is impossible to forget driving a car. Hence, it is obvious that a person, who is familiar and experienced with driving, will be careful while taking the test and will follow all the rules at that time. For example, I have seen many drivers to go slow and follow the speed limit, when they know that there is a speed camera placed on that road. If driving skills and drivers’ obligation to traffic rules are to be tested, regular driving tests will not be productive, as they can be easily forged. Secondly, in a populous country like India, arranging regular driving tests can be cumbersome. For instance, it took a month for me to book a driving test date as a new driver. I can only imagine the horror, the drivers will have to face, when people with existing driver license will be added to the queue. Therefore, this will only prove to be a waste of time. Finally, I believe that instead of more tests and thus making the process more difficult in turn, we can make our laws stringent and penalize the rule flouters heavily, so that the drivers can become more careful while driving. This will not only ensure less accidents, but also result in a better driving experience.