Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advantages and disadvantages of examinations Nowadays, examinations play an indispensable role in students' lives. While there are a significant number of people who maintain that examinations are a fair way of determining one‘s intelligence, there are also sceptics who believe otherwise. Hence, there are both arguments for and against examinations. It would be hard to deny that there are a number of positive aspects of examinations. One convincing argument in favour of examinations is that they create competition amongst students. This is due to the fact that some individuals get motivated to study hard and push themselves to the limits on the grounds that they desire to perform better than their peers. Consequently, this type of behaviour helps to maintain concentration and broaden one‘s knowledge. Furthermore, it appears that exams might contribute to one‘s financial stability. For instance, if students ensure to maintain high grades, they have a decent chance of getting a scholarship from a top university. As a result, it urges students to reach their full potential and secure a brighter future. The opponents of this view claim that there are numerous negative aspects of examinations. One serious drawback of examinations is that they might have a negative impact on one‘s mental health. This is clearly illustrated by the fact that many students feel the need to constantly strike for flawlessness and perfection. This kind of mentality puts a lot of pressure on an individual. Therefore, it might lead to serious mental issues such as OCD or anxiety. Sceptics also point out that examinations fail to measure one‘s knowledge accurately. Likewise, numerous students focus more on passing the course rather than understanding the subject properly. Thus, examinations might lose their value because some students fail to remember the information in the long run. Taking everything into consideration, it is apparent from the foregoing evidence that although examinations might encourage students to become more responsible and pursue their ambitions, they also have several pitfalls. As far as I‘m concerned, the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages, however, a few ideas should be implemented in order to enhance the education system.