Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that the traffic and transportation issues can be resolved by encouraging people to move from the suburbs or countryside to the cities. However, I believe that people moving into cities can cause more problems. This essay will explain my opinion with relevant examples. Firstly, cities often face severe congestions compared to the suburbs or the countryside as their population density is much higher compared to the others. The reason for this is that most people in cities usually prefer to use their vehicles, which increases the congestion on the roads. If people are motivated to move into cities, it can result in a further increase in the congestions. Alternatively, if the people are encouraged to live in the suburbs or the countryside, it can lead to the development of these areas and also result in lesser traffic woes for the commuters in the cities. Turning towards transportation, these problems usually increase with an increase in the number of people using them. Furthermore, a rise in the populace cause an increased demand for public transport, and this increased requirement mean that the government has to shell out more money on procuring vehicles, which can further add to the traffic woes. For example, in India, where most of the population is concentrated in cities the public transit provided is not sufficient to support such a huge requirement. Conversely, if the governments instead focus on strengthening the transport network among various regions, then this could lead to less population density in cities, and as a result lesser transportation issues. In conclusion, although some people think that more people coming to cities can reduce problems pertaining to congestion and transit, in my opinion, an would only cause the situation to worsen.