Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which view point do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers

Advertisement is a process whereby goods and services are brought is brought to the awareness of the general public. While advertisements implore people to purchase items they do not plan for, I will argue that it informs the masses new products that may ameliorate our standard of living. On the one hand, advertisements inform the world about new products introduced in the market, as well as highlighting their key features. For instance, I personally became aware of the new Samsung Galaxy Pro via a television advert, more so excited was when I knew about it water resistant properties. In today's contemporary times when the cost of living is extremely inflated, adverts compare the prices of different manufactured commodities, as one is most likely to get what he or she can afford. On the flip side, it is popularly stated that whatever has an advantage has their corresponding downside. One major disadvantage of frequent advertisements is the fact that impulsive spendings will be on the increase, as individuals who lack self control may not be able to resist buying whatever is being commercialized. A vivid illustration is my younger brother who often goes for any electronic device being advertised on social media, that singular habit keeps him broke a few times, also fund kept for important projects are often spent on the go. In conclusion, while advertisements make people acquire irrelevant goods and services, I believe that the knowledge of new products in the market makes life more fun and enjoyable