Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do so many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

Living a healthy and balanced lifestyle is one of the primary requirements for a long and happy life. But we have been seeing that a lot more people in their sedentary lifestyles are not able to integrate physical exercise in their routine, even when they are not busy which leads to lifestyle diseases such as obesity and high blood pressure. There are several factors in making this problem rise to such pandemic levels. Let us discuss them in detail and also how we can make people live a healthy life. To begin with, the primary cause for little to no exercise is our busy work schedule while leads to little to no time left in our routine for recreational activities. Add to that even the remaining time goes to sedentary leisure such as watching TV or Netflix. Coupled with modern conveniences like elevators and cars alongside a limited awareness of lifestyle diseases and their cause leads to low levels of motivation towards any physical activity. In spite of all these challenges and issues, there are several steps that can be adopted both at an individual as well as community level to inculcate and motivate healthy habits. Firstly, people need to be made aware of the ill-effects of a sedentary lifestyle with no exercise as well as how dangerous are these lifestyle diseases, through mass media infomercials. Secondly, healthy habits such as taking stairs and playing outdoors need to be inculcated from early childhood and more fitness facilities such as gyms and parks need to be created. To summarize, it is a sad reality that people are not getting enough exercise due to their sedentary lifestyle, however, there are several ways to motivate people to live an active and healthy lifestyle for their better present and future.