Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been observed that consumers are purchasing products by the influence of media broadcasting instead of having no actual need. In my opinion, although this is true in some aspect, some consumable items have substantial demand for making life comfortable. Television and other commercials create a superficial desire among the buyer's mind. Manufacturers frequently use newspapers, billboards and satellite for promoting their goods in a very attractive way, which easily grasp the attention of their target customers. Because, these types of marketing create a psychological dilemma among the viewers and allure them to buy the products though they already have plenty of these. For instance, we often see the advertisement of fairness cream, where glamourous models describe the product features in such way that many girls instill in their mind that they might get the fairness if they use that cosmetic. However, many hit items are actually required because of having new attributes. The world is gradually updating with technological advancements; therefore, some existing devices come out in the business market with updated characteristics which might be useful either for extended work, easier handling, faster action or perfection. Hence, the customers might already have an older version of these, they would like to have the new one for them to use to enjoy a relaxing life. For example, a family might has a manual juice maker, but they might like to order an electric juicer for them, because having this modern version will save their time as well as physical labour. In conclusion, one of the major reasons of bumper merchandising is promotional activities as it indirectly entice consumers. Nevertheless, I believe, the purchaser has an authentic desire for their spending as long the bought objects have mentionable qualities.